Attorney General Byrd leads challenge to California’s diesel truck ban

Attorney General Byrd leads challenge to California’s diesel truck ban

DES MOINES, Iowa — Iowa Attorney General Brenna Byrd on Friday led a coalition of 19 states in challenging the Biden administration alleging it illegally allowed California to ban conventional gas or diesel trucks.

In June, Baird sued the Biden administration to give California the authority to force most buses, vans, trucks and trailers to go electric by 2035. The trucking industry employs nearly 100,000 Iowans, making up nearly ten percent of the state’s workforce. . California’s truck ban will force many truck drivers out of work through dramatically higher rates and regulations.

The attorney general’s office says the truck ban illegally bypasses the Clean Air Act’s mandatory four-year transition process required for electric vehicles by cutting that period in half for California. California’s market power, and the presence of major ports along its coast, give it significant influence in the national trucking industry. The ban is forcing manufacturers to focus on producing electric vehicles to keep up. Eight other states have already emulated California’s truck ban.

“We are filing a lawsuit to stop California’s radical truck ban,” Baird said. “Not only is California’s truck ban illegal, it will devastate Iowa’s trucking business while increasing costs and regulations. The EPA gives California special privileges while the rest of the country is expected to adhere to its extreme climate change agenda. But we will not stand for that. We “We are fighting the Biden administration in court because California cannot dictate which trucks we drive.”

Baird asserts that the Biden administration’s waiver of California’s truck ban violates the law, specifically principles of constitutional federalism that prohibit one state from receiving special treatment over another. With this waiver, it argues that California was illegally given the authority to set its own vehicle emissions standards, while the rest of the country must either follow federal standards or adopt California’s standards.

Iowa led the brief, which was joined by Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Utah, West Virginia and Wyoming.

Read the summary below:



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *